MOT rule changes from 20 May 2018

MOT rule changes from 20 May 2018

From Sunday 20 May 2018, the MOT will be changing.

This includes 3 new defect categories –  dangerous, major and minor. A dangerous or major fault will result in an MOT fail.

There will also be tighter limits on smoke for diesel vehicles to help improve air quality.

Vehicles more than 40 years old without substantial improvements will be exempt from having an MOT.

Find out more about the changes


Lloyd Morgan Group will be running Vehicle Inspection Courses for HGV & PSV based upon the new manuals / Standards from May 2018.

Contact us for further details